Updated for:

Wednesday, April 23, 2014 1:26 PM

The Sentinel Newspapers

Helpful Tools

Subscribe to:

  • RSS

Police move several to asst. chief slots

Share This Article:

Published on: Thursday, March 21, 2013

By Donna Broadway

ROCKVILLE - Captain Darryl McSwain and Commander Luther Reynolds , were unanimously confirmed as assistant police chiefs by the County Council on March 12as part of an official department reorganization of the Montgomery County Police Department.

Both men were nominated for the position by County Executive Isiah Leggett in early 2013.

“I am very pleased that my nominations of Captain Darryl McSwain and Commander Luther Reynolds for advancement to Assistant Police Chiefs were unanimously approved today by the Montgomery County Council. During their combined over-45 years of police service, they have both demonstrated the finest qualities of dedication and leadership. They truly represent the continued excellence that we can expect in the future of our Montgomery County Police Department,” Leggett said.

Under the reorganization plan, the police department will consist of four divisions instead of three. The divisions will be the management services bureau, the investigative services bureau, patrol bureau, and field services bureau. Chief J. Thomas Manger said the split will allow the divisions to equitably share responsibility.

McSwain is assigned to the newly-created patrol bureau and Reynolds is assigned to the management services bureau.

McSwain is a 24-year veteran of MCPS and served as Director of Special Operations since 2010.

“We are honored to be here and we are going to remain committed to being accountable to the needs of the community,” McSwain said.

Reynolds, a 23-year-old veteran of the MCPS, has served as the Fifth District commander since 2010.

“It is an absolute honor and privilege to be a police office in Montgomery County, to put on the uniform everyday, I take it seriously. I look forward to new opportunities. There is a lot of work to do in the days ahead,” Reynolds said.

Other appointments include Assistant Chief Betsy Davis as chief of field services bureau, Captain Robert Bolesta as the director of the special operations division, Captain Nancy Demme moving into the director of special investigations division and Captain David Gillespie as commander of the 5th district station. All positions became effective March 12.

Reader Comments - 0 Total

captcha db787ce9ef0f450cbea4118e33c06189


Today's Poll

Question: What's your tablet of choice?
  • iPad
  • Kindle
  • Samsung Galaxy
  • Any tablet is fine
  • I don't use tablets

Current Issue

This Week's Issue

Thursday, April 17, 2014