Incumbents dominate primary election in Prince George's

800px-2006 09 19 - Annapolis - Sunset over State HouseAll of the incumbent senators representing Prince George’s County in the General Assembly will advance to the general election, but the House of Delegates will see some slight changes.

Only four Republican candidates ran in the primary election for Prince George’s County Senate seats: Janice Denise Fountaine, Kory Boone, Kelley Howells and Jesse Allen Peed. They all ran uncontested in the primary election and will face Democrats Paul Pinsky, Ulysses Currie, C. Anthony Muse and Thomas Miller Jr. in the general election in November.

The most heavily contested seat was for Legislative District 26, where four Democrats fought for a chance to move on to the general election. Muse, the incumbent, beat out Jerry Mathis, Veronica Turner and Brian Patrick Woolfolk after securing 50.7 percent of the votes.

In the House races for Prince George’s County, Democrat Darren Swain became only incumbent delegate in the county who failed to win a bid for reelection. Swain lost to Carolyn Howard and Michael Vaughn in District 24. Erek Barron narrowly defeated Tiffany Alston for the third spot with 13.5 percent of the vote compared to Alston’s 13 percent. Alston was seeking a seat after she was removed from office in 2012 for misconduct. Swain was Alston’s replacement. Republican Cy Okoro also advanced to the general election.

District 21 will see incumbents Joseline Pena-Melnyk, Barbara Frush and Ben Barnes return on the Democratic side for the general election.  They will run against Katherine Butcher, a Republican who ran unopposed in the primary.  Three delegates total will be elected to the district come November. 

District 22 will also see the return of three incumbents on the Democratic side: Alonzo Washington, Tawanna Gaines and Anne Healy.  Rushern Baker IV, son of Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker III, only collected 16 percent of votes on the Democratic side. Republican Lynn White, who ran unopposed, will face the three Democratic candidates when they vie for the three available legislative seats.

Three candidates are vying for the two available seats in District 23B. Democratic incumbents Marvin Holmes and Joseph Vallario will take on Republican Mike Hethmon in November.

Republican Joe Crawford and incumbent Democrat James Proctor will fight for the District 27A seat.

In District 27B, Democrat Michael Jackson will face Republican Philip Parenti for the one available seat in District 27B.

District 27C saw Democrat Sue Kullen and Republican Mark Fisher move onto the general election, where they will fight for one available seat.

The rest of the districts in the county have shoe-in candidates who are facing no opposition.

Democratic incumbent Geraldine Valentino-Smith will be running unopposed in District 23.

In District 25, Democrats Dereck Davis, Angela Angel and Darryl Barnes will run uncontested for the three available seats in November.  Davis was the only incumbent in the race, but 10 candidates campaigned for the Democratic nominations.

Three seats in District 26 will be filled by Democrats in the general election. Jay Walker and Kris Valderrama, incumbents, will serve alongside Tony Knotts.  There were no Republican candidates for the district. 

Democrat Will Campos, the only candidate running in District 47B for a Delegate seat, will run unopposed in the general election as well. 

back to top