Len Bias to be honored 30 years after death

biasCOLLEGE PARK – Len Bias will finally be recognized by the University of Maryland athletics department.

Nearly three decades after the basketball star’s tragic death, the school announced Bias was among a group of eight former student-athletes selected for induction into the University of Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame.
In addition to Bias, the Class of 2014 also includes former running back Charlie Wysocki, along with Bob Boneillo, Edward G. Cooke, Maureen ‘Bean’ Scott Dupcak, Alex Kahoe, Debbie Lytle and athletic trainer Sandy Worth.
“We would like to congratulate our newest inductees and their families on their selection for the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame,” said Kevin Anderson, University of Maryland Director of Athletics. “It’s an exciting time for us to honor and recognize the incredible accomplishments of our former student-athletes during their time in College Park.”
The M Club will also present Honorary M Club Awards to Colin Potts, Leonard Raley, Rosalie Reggettz and Bob ‘Turtle’ Smith for their longtime dedication to Maryland athletics.
Founded in 1982 by the M Club and developed as a collaborative effort with the Athletics Department, the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame pays tribute to those superior Terrapin athletes, coaches and administrators who have made major contributions to the honor and fame of the University of Maryland, and have continued to demonstrate the positive values learned through competing in intercollegiate sports.
“These outstanding inductees have excelled both academically and athletically during their time at Maryland and in their professional careers,” said Kevin Glover, executive director of the M Club. “With so many outstanding nominees, the selection committee takes exceptional pride in honoring these great legends from our proud past.”

back to top