County baseball and softball players honored in Scholastic Awards

Baseball cropLANDOVER – Prince George’s County student-athletes and community leaders were honored at the 2018 Scholastic Awards at Kentland Community Center on June 13.

The event recognized the county’s top high school baseball and softball players.

Dr. Rick Bryson, creator of the fourth annual Scholastic Awards, said the event “promotes the positive activities of county youth.”

Kamau Moody (Bishop McNamara), Ivor Edwards (Bladensburg), Jaden Lewis (Bowie), Xavier Jones (Crossland), Jose Negron (Central), Jordan Jelectic (DeMatha), Aaron Hemmans (DuVal), Collin McDermott (Eleanor Roosevelt), John Torres (Frederick Douglass), Christian McGowan (Charles H. Flowers), Julian Parker (Friendly), Sean Mason (Gwynn Park), Andres Gonzalez (High Point), Glenn Harrison (Laurel), Darian Bess (Northwestern), Richard Archey (Oxon Hill), Aaron Murray (Parkdale), Marc Acosta (Surrattsville), Jeremiah Brown (Suitland) and Marshall Dreher III (Dr. Henry Wise Jr.) were among the baseball players honored.

Olivia Mitchell (Bishop McNamara), Maryann Thomas (Bladensburg), Kennedy Thomas Coger (Bowie), Destiny Bryson (Crossland), Elizabeth Philogene (DuVal), Lauryn Brooks (Roosevelt), Cherish Tolbert (Douglass), Hediyah Sadeq (Flowers), Imani Ward (Friendly), Morgan Smoke (Gwynn Park), Jessica Gonzalez (Gwynn Park), Kea Harris (Laurel), Bria Butler (Oxon Hill), Zilma Flores (Parkdale) and Krystal Williams (Wise) were among the softball honorees.

Gregory Steven Proctor, Jr. of Proctor and Associates received the Glenn Harris Lifetime Achievement Award for his noteworthy accomplishments in the community and Jim Coleman, President & chief executive officer of the Prince George’s County Economic Development Corporation, delivered the keynote speech.

Last modified onFriday, 22 June 2018 14:15
back to top