PGCC hands out annual athletic awards

LARGO – The Prince George’s Community College (PGCC) athletics department held its annual banquet on May 17 and handed out a variety of awards.

Gina Seifert from the women’s basketball team earned Female Student-Athlete of the Year honors. She averaged 11 points and 9.4 rebounds and was selected to the NJCAA Division XX All-Tournament team. The award stayed in the family, as her sister Lisa earned the honor last year.

Brandon Crosby of the Owls’ baseball team was picked as the Male Student-Athlete of the Year. He led the NJCAA in stolen bases and earned a selection to both the All-Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference and NJCAA Division III All-Region XX first teams.

Crosby played a tremendous role in winning both the Division III Region XX and District D titles en route to the Division III World Series. PGCC lost after two games in the double-elimination World Series a few weeks ago.

Several student-athletes also earned the Academic Excellence Award. The award is given to a student who posts a grade point average of 3.3 or higher. This year’s winners were: Druex Collins (track and field), James Hagins (men's basketball), Michael Hovermill, Jr. (baseball), Ian Kisakye (men's soccer), Jonathan Mahoney (baseball), Gina Seifert (women's basketball), Lisa Seifert (women's basketball), Dominique Smith (women's basketball), Fredy Roque (men's soccer), Dexter Turner (men's basketball), Bryan Waltemath (baseball) and Abdel Yauoubou (men's soccer).

The Owl Dedication Award is given to a student-athlete who participates for two years in a sport. Here is a list of the players who won the honor this year: Men's Soccer: Elihu Dorbi, Dan Ebisawa, Ian Kisakye, Komlan Kouhiko, Urich Ndip, Fernando Ordonio, Jose Pacheco, Fredy Roque, Austin Wall-Lytle and Walid Yacoubou; Women's Basketball: Ivie Foster and Lisa Seifert; Men's Basketball: Kenneth Pettaway; Baseball: Kilian Bloat, Jared Davis, Kevin Korneick, Jonathan Mahoney, Quentin Rohrbaugh, Thomas Thorgersen and James Wilcox, III; Track and Field: Druex Collins.

Each team’s coach also announced their most valuable player for the season. They were: Edwin Claros (men’s soccer), Asisha Greene (women’s basketball), Matthew Thomas (men’s basketball), Bryan Waltemath (baseball), Ari Wilson (men’s track and field), Mary Foday (women’s track and field) and Dominic Hampleton (cheerleading).

back to top