A polling place where voters can vote. (File photo)

SEABROOK – Historical results came in during Election Day 2019 on Nov. 5. Bowie, Laurel and Greenbelt held their mayoral and council elections before the start of the 2020 session. Here are the results:

Bowie elects first African American mayor

Business owner Tim Adams becomes the first new mayor of Bowie in 21 years after amassing 3,977 votes.

Adams, a 25-year resident of Bowie, founded System Application & Technologies Inc. (SA-TECH), which is headquartered in Upper Marlboro. He will become the city’s first African American mayor. He replaces G. Frederick Robinson, the former retired major of the Prince George’s Police Department that was re-elected seven times. He announced his retirement this past spring.

“The numbers are in, and your support was amazing,” Adams said in a Facebook post. “I thank you so much for your support and for coming along with me on my journey. We did it!”

The businessman ran on a campaign of trying to limit overdevelopment. Adams is against the construction of housing developments close to the sight of Freeway Airport.

Adams’ election came after a hard campaign against former Councilmember Dennis Brady and Len Lucchi, the first two-term president of the Bowie Chamber of Commerce. Lucchi received endorsements from Robinson as well as former County Executive Rushern Baker III.

Incumbents Michael Estève (District 1), DuFour Woolfley (District 2) and Henri Gardner (at-large) won their seats back on the council.

In the District 3 election, Adrian Boafo edged out challenger Mike Byrd and incumbent councilmember Darian Senn-Carter to win with 713 votes. Boafo worked as the campaign manager of Hoyer for Congress, the political campaign representing Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (MD-5).

Two women will be joining the council after the election as Ingrid Harrison won the second At-Large seat, and Roxy Ndebumadu becomes the new District 4 representative. Ndebumadu won by 16 votes against Leon Buck while Harrison was the highest vote-getter for one of the two At-Large seats, collecting 5,065 votes.

Colin Byrd becomes Greenbelt’s youngest mayor 

Democrat and University of Maryland alumnus Colin Byrd became the youngest mayor to be elected in Greenbelt, winning the eight-person race with 1,769 votes, 95 more than incumbent Emmett V. Jordan.

The 27-year old grew up in the city and served in the council since 2017. During the day, Byrd is the chief of staff for Maryland State Delegate Julian Ivey (47A).

In Greenbelt, members of the city council choose the mayor and mayor pro tem, but it is customarily to select the person with the most votes.

Byrd was sworn in on Nov. 11 during the charter meeting with County Executive Angela Alsobrooks, members of the county council, Del. Alzono Washington (D-22) and Comptroller Peter Franchot. When he was first elected in 2017, Byrd became the second African American elected to the Greenbelt City Council.

“In light of the talk of my age, I do want to make one thing crystal clear,” Byrd said. “Number one, I will be a mayor for everybody, the young, the old, and the in-between. And number two, together with the help of my colleagues, I am ready to lead to the City of Greenbelt.”

Jordan, who was the city’s first African American mayor, finished in second place and was elected to become the mayor pro tem for the next two years.

The remaining five incumbent councilmembers, Edward V. Putens, Judith F. Davis, Rodney M. Roberts, Silke I. Pope and Leta Mach, were re-elected as at-large members of the council after receiving more than 1,000 votes each. They defeated lone challenger Bill Orleans, a known and active member of the community, who could only amass 617 votes.

“I am going to make sure that when a Greenbelt resident wants to raise an issue in a council meeting, that resident’s voice will be heard no matter who he or she is,” Byrd said.

Moe re-elected in Laurel

Craig A. Moe was re-elected for a fifth time as mayor of the City of Laurel after collecting more than 1,584 votes on election day. He defeated Jeffrey W. Mills, a DuVal High School graduate and owner of CDL Book Club. Mills only received 698 votes.

“Thank you very much to the City of Laurel community for your support and vote,” Moe said on his Twitter account. “It is and has always been my honor to represent you. I will not let you down and look forward to working with the new city council and the community.”

Small changes were made within the rest of the city council as newcomer Brencis Smith joined Keith Sydnor as the Ward 2 representatives after an uncontested race. Smith replaces Frederick Smalls, who had served five terms in the council while still being a member of the Laurel Regional Hospital Board of Directors and the Prince George’s County Democratic Central Committee.

Also, after serving as the Ward 1 councilmember, Valerie M.A. Nicholas wins a seat back on the council as an At-Large member, defeating Thomas Matthews Jr. by 880 votes. Meanwhile, after completing his 11th term on the Laurel City Council, Michael Leszcz will now join Councilmember Carl DeWalt as Ward 1 representatives after winning uncontested races.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.